Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Jason Vargas
ERA W-L K
5.77 7-9 84
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1983 Birthplace: Apple Valley, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Marlins (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 27 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 7-9, allowing three hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Thursday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 5.77 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Thursday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.25 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 6:08 PM PT7:08 PM MT8:08 PM CT9:08 PM ET21:08 ET1:08 GMT9:08 6:08 PM MST8:08 PM EST7:08 PM CST8:38 PM VEN5:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 6-9, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Thursday. Vargas struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.47 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 5-9, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-4 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out two, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 5-8, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Chicago Cubs 10-3 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 4-8, allowing three hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Washington Nationals 3-0 on Friday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.96 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 3-8, allowing two runs on six hits in 5.1 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-2 on Sunday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 7.67 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 2-8, allowing three runs on three hits in 0.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-1 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with an 8.75 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 2-7, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-2 on Thursday. Vargas struck out seven, ending the game with an 8.23 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed three runs on three hits and three walks in 4.1 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with an 8.36 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
June 23 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Vargas (strained right calf) will start Friday at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The 2017 All-Star with the Royals will still be a high-risk fantasy play when he does return as he's 2-6 with an 8.60 ERA in nine starts this season.
June 20 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE12:10 AM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 2-6, allowing seven runs on nine hits in 2.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-8 on Tuesday. Vargas did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.60 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
June 15 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 2-5, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-3 on Thursday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 7.39 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 2-4, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Baltimore Orioles 2-1 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
May 30 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 2-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out two, ending the game with an 8.53 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
May 26 4:49 PM PT5:49 PM MT6:49 PM CT7:49 PM ET19:49 ET23:49 GMT7:49 4:49 PM MST6:49 PM EST5:49 PM CST7:19 PM VEN3:49 UAE (+1)6:49 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed five runs on six hits and two walks in 3.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 17-6 on Saturday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 10.62 ERA and 2.16 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 1-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Monday. Vargas struck out seven, ending the game with a 9.87 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.
May 11 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST4:15 PM CST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Vargas will have Tuesday's scheduled start skipped and will instead throw a simulated game prior to the Mets' matchup with Toronto.
Analysis: Vargas has lost all three starts since coming off the DL in late April and been awfully bad in each of those outings, surrendering a total of 19 runs and 26 hits over just 12 1/3 innings. "He's just not really throwing through the ball with intent right now," Mets manager Mickey Callaway said. "So we're going to work on that. He just needs to go out there and have some success and feel himself execute some pitches."
May 8 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 0-3, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-2 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 13.86 ERA and 2.68 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Vargas had another rough time as he works back from hand surgery. Vargas broke the hamate bone in his right hand and had surgery to remove it on March 20. In three starts spanning 12 1/3 innings, he's allowed 19 runs, 26 hits and five homers.
May 3 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 0-2, allowing six runs on 11 hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-0 on Thursday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 16.20 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 0-1, allowing nine runs on nine hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the San Diego Padres 12-2 on Saturday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 22.09 ERA and 3.27 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 18 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST1:37 PM CST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Vargas (broken right hand) will make his season debut on Saturday at San Diego.
Analysis: Vargas had been on the disabled list with a broken bone in his non-throwing hand suffered on March 17 when he tried to catch a line drive in a minor league game. He allowed three runs in four innings of a rehab appearance for Triple-A Las Vegas on Monday.
Feb. 16 7:58 AM PT8:58 AM MT9:58 AM CT10:58 AM ET10:58 ET15:58 GMT23:58 8:58 AM MST10:58 AM EST9:58 AM CST11:28 AM VEN19:58 UAE9:58 AM CT-The Mets and Vargas have agreed to a two-year deal worth a reported $15 million.
Analysis: Vargas was 18-11 with a 4.16 ERA in Kansas City last season, but he was a different pitcher after the All-Star break. He posted a 2.62 ERA in the first half and then was atrocious from mid-July on, recording a 6.38 ERA. The Mets have to hope they're getting first-half Vargas.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Fla 5 5 0 - 0 17 13 1 73.2 71 34 33 4 31 4 59 1.38 4.03
2006 Fla 1 2 0 - 0 12 5 0 43.0 50 39 35 9 30 3 25 1.86 7.33
2007 NYM 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.1 17 14 14 4 2 1 4 1.84 12.19
2009 Sea 3 6 0 - 0 23 14 0 91.2 98 53 50 16 24 1 54 1.33 4.91
2010 Sea 9 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 192.2 187 86 81 18 54 3 116 1.25 3.78
2011 Sea 10 13 0 - 0 32 32 4 201.0 205 105 95 22 59 4 131 1.31 4.25
2012 Sea 14 11 0 - 0 33 33 2 217.1 201 94 93 35 55 1 141 1.18 3.85
2013 LAA 9 8 0 - 0 24 24 3 150.0 162 68 67 17 46 2 109 1.39 4.02
2014 KC 11 10 0 - 0 30 30 1 187.0 197 82 77 19 41 4 128 1.27 3.71
2015 KC 5 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 43.0 46 20 19 5 12 0 27 1.35 3.98
2016 KC 0 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 12.0 8 3 3 1 3 0 11 0.92 2.25
2017 KC 18 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 179.2 181 84 83 27 58 2 134 1.33 4.16
2018 NYM 7 9 0 - 0 20 20 0 92.0 100 60 59 18 30 1 84 1.41 5.77
Career 92 90 0 - 0 268 248 12 1493.1 1523 742 709 195 445 26 1023 1.32 4.27

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 Fla 18 26 3 8 2 0 0 2 1 7 0 0 .308 .333 .385
2006 Fla 12 16 1 5 1 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .313 .353 .375
2007 NYM 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Sea 23 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2010 Sea 31 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Sea 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Sea 33 5 2 2 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .400 .500 .400
2017 KC 32 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2018 NYM 21 27 2 4 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .148 .179 .148
Career 270 92 8 21 3 0 0 4 4 25 0 0 .228 .260 .261

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 KC Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 11 6 6 3 6 0 11 3.52
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 3.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 2 1 1 1 3 0 6 1.69
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 3 3 0 2 0 3 6.75
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 11 6 6 3 6 0 11 3.52

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 842 89 83 86.3 54.22
Curveball 250 77 70 73.6 16.1
Changeup 461 84 76 80.6 29.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.